(#11) Good morning / 早安

Did you say ‘good morning’ to anyone today?

In Chinese we would say 早安 zao3 an1. 早 zao3 means morning (早 also have the meaning of early), and 安 an1 can mean assurance, safety etc.

安心 an1 xin1 assurance
安全 an1 quan2 safe, as in there is no danger
平安 ping2 an1 safe

It is also possible to say good morning as 早上好 zao3 shang4 hao3.

shang4, on its own, is a preposition, which literally means ‘up’. Placed together, 早上 zao3 shang4 means morning too. Next we add 好 hao3, so in total it is 早上好 zao3 shang4 hao3, which means literally ‘morning-well’.

 

New Vocabulary:

  • 早安 zao3 an1 good morning
  • zao3 morning; early
  • shang4 up
  1. Hello! I know this is somewhat off-topic but I needed to ask.
    Does managing a well-established website like yours require a massive amount work?
    I am completely new to operating a blog but I do write in
    my diary daily. I’d like to start a blog so I will be able to share my personal experience and thoughts online. Please let me know if you have any kind of ideas or tips for new aspiring bloggers. Thankyou!

    • Your blog will be regarding drawing cartoons? I will be interested to learn! =)

      Honestly, as you can see, I had just started this blog less than one week ago, so I am not the most experienced person to ask. Creating new contents is time consuming and sometimes tiring, but because like you, I want to share what I know, so that gives me the energy.

      I don’t know if it is relevant, but I started a list of topics, and when I look at it, I feel inspired to at least write a short post, and human nature being such, once you actually start on the post, you have so much more to say than you originally thought. In your case, maybe you want to create a list of super simple cartoons. So on days where you feel tired, post at least a simple cartoon.

  2. Hi there! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be ok. I’m definitely enjoying your blog
    and look forward to new updates.

    • I am still setting a twitter account that aligns with this blog, but not yet. Thanks for asking, meanwhile guess you have to check back to here when you are free. =)

  3. Hello, every time i used to check website posts here in the early
    hours in the break of day, because i like to
    learn more and more.

    • Thank you! I hope the posts have been helpful so far. It is the Chinese New Year today, so I’ll like to say Happy Chinese New Year to you. 新年快乐! xin1 nian2 kuai4 le4!

  4. Your means of explaining the whole thing in this paragraph is in fact nice, every one can effortlessly be
    aware of it, Thanks a lot.

  5. I’ve said that least 2354706 times. SCK was here

  6. I simply want to mention I am all new to blogs and absolutely enjoyed your blog site. Most likely I’m want to bookmark your site . You surely come with very good posts. Thank you for revealing your website page.

  7. What’s up everyone, it’s my first pay a quick visit at this
    website, and piece of writing is in fact fruitful in favor of me, keep up posting these
    articles or reviews.

  8. I’m truly enjoying the design and layout of your blog. It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more pleasant for me to come here
    and visit more often. Did you hire out a developer to create your theme?
    Outstanding work!

  9. Some are vegetarians and others are omnivorous.

  10. Good morning. Or, 早安! 🙂

  1. February 8th, 2013
    Trackback from : phen375

Say something~

