(#1) I, you, he, she / 我,你,他,她

Let’s begin with identifying

wo3: I, me
ni3: you
ta1: he, him
ta1: she, her

Chinese is similar to English in terms of the word orders, and we constantly use the pronouns too. But instead of different words for different contexts, pronouns in chinese are much simpler.

可以 wo3 ke3 yi3: I can
! shi4 wo3: It’s me!

See? Same word in two different contexts, replacing both ‘I’ and ‘me’ cleanly.

可以 ni3 ke3 yi3: You can
! shi4 ni3: It’s you!

Okay~ It is equilvilent in the case of ‘you’.

可以 ta1 ke3 yi3: He can
! shi4 ta1: It’s him!

可以 ta1 ke3 yi3: She can
! shi4 ta1: It’s her!

Note that in chinese, “he” and “she”, or “him” and “her” is pronounced the same way, as ta1. Therefore sometimes in long conversations and we are mentioning several people in the convo, we have to insert the names frequently to make the conversation clear.

New Vocabulary

  • wo3 I, me
  • ni3 you
  • ta1 he, him
  • ta1 she, her
  • 可以 ke3 yi3 can
  • shi4 am, are, islisten
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Say something~

